I generally reserve Saturdays for my patients who are in crisis with suicidal ideation. I know I cannot do this work alone, and on my own. I need to pray, and I need others to pray with me. This is today’s prayer.

Dear God,

Thank You for being in the ministry of healing. Thank You that healing matters to You. Thank You that You care. Thank You for demonstrating we matter to You. Thank You that You know flesh and spirit, even if we in our flesh only understand and measure flesh.

Today I want to lift up my patients who are suicidal. Lord, they have walked a ways towards the darkness in the distance. It took days for some, seasons for others, and moments for others. The darkness came upon them and took them quick. And they stood at the edge of the abyss, looking in, measuring their flesh against the void. Lord, Thank You for standing in all places wherever those whom You love are located. Thank You that Your Word says that darkness is as light to you–as David wrote, and sang, in the Psalms–where can David go that You are not there also? Lord, I pray You hold them close as they look into the void. And I pray they find You there. I pray they find Life there…

Lord, You give life. You make life. You do what You do. Lord, may you build bridges across those abysses in partnership with those who are looking in today. May they know You hold their lives with great care.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 1.29.11 AMWarmly,

Ellice

Licensed Professional Counselor, EMDR Therapist, Certified Laughter Leader, Certified Dancing Mindfulness Facilitator, PeaceLove CREATOR Facilitator

Leave a Reply

